Get Rich Quick Schemes?

Everyone wants more money. I bet even Oprah wished she had more Money at her disposal. Well I have a simple wish, and that is to lower my consumer debt. By the American Standard, my debt is not extravagant. The Average American carries $8000 in Credit Card debt; this doesn’t include non-revolving debts like Car loans. I want to get rid of my debt before Student payments kick in at the end of September. Since I am not a long-term planner. I want rid of the debt in a month. I figured ince I am tying to shed pounds, might as well try and shed my debt at the same time.

My goal is to be credit card debt free by the end of August. This gives me 2 months and a tad to save up $3000 (plus interest). I’ve done some math, thanks to the 31 days in both July and August, that leaves me 67 days. And to save about $45 a day might seem easy, but that equals up to $658 every paycheck. That’s a tad unrealistic. So instead, I must result to making an extra $658 every 2 weeks. My colleague and I are brainstorming:

A) I know, get another part-time job. That sounds easy doesn’t it? But when I already work 50 plus hrs a week plus having Christopher, plus spending time with Marc, plus entertaining. There’s no time. I know I am a whiner… shut up.

B) Prostitution Ok, morals, ethics and self-respect aside, I am going to lose Marc if I do that. So that’s a no go. Can’t do adult massages either, that’s just gross. I had a dream I got a job doing it though. woke up crying….

C) Start a company I really don’t have any apecial attributes. Plus I think you need capital to start a company and you are bound to lose money in the first quarter.

D) Twitter earning: This is a lot more work than you would think. Plus, you are selling via your posts; thus making you lose credibility AND you are selling your twitter soul. I want to keep my twitter soul. Thank you.

E) Online Survey: I have tried that, tried many different sites and it takes a lot fo time and yields very very little return. Maybe I am just not in a surveyable demographic. I don’t know.

F) Why don’t I try a garage sale: Since I’ve just moved into an apartment, I have thrown out everything that I don’t want. Moreover, I have thrown out everytihng that I don’t want of Marc’s as well.

So I think I’ve come up qith some pretty damn good excuses why I can’t make money… How pessimistic is that?

So what’s your Get Rich Quick Scheme?

4 Comments

Filed under Random

4 responses to “Get Rich Quick Schemes?

  1. It’s possible to make a few dollars from blogging, but nothing substantial. And I really doubt that anyone ACTUALLY makes money from Twitter (the minute you even mention it, nobody is following you any more).

    I’m trying to pay back some debt too…I think selling my old stuff is a good start. Without a garage, eBay should work, but it takes a lot of time. Oh well.

  2. thehappylainy

    maybe u and I should start a pyramid scheme

  3. BDO

    I agree. There is a lot of stuff around our house that will sell online. $648 worth? You will need to sell some “expensive” things to get that much, though. Don’t worry if it takes longer…most people getting out of debt consider it a “financial marathon”.

  4. thehappylainy

    don’t know if u are Canadian or not. But I watched the Passionate Eye last night regarding the current economic situation relating back to the great depression. and it’s largely attributed by mismanaged personal debt both in the financial institution’s part and the consumer.

Leave a Reply

